what is vegan

Is voita vegan?

Voita is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is voita?

Voita, also known as "voi" in Finnish, is a type of butter that originates from Finland. It is made by churning fresh cream until the butterfat separates from the buttermilk. The resulting butter is then washed with water to remove any remaining buttermilk and then salted to enhance its flavor and improve its shelf life. Voita has a rich, creamy texture and a distinctively rich, nutty flavor that sets it apart from other types of butter. It is a popular ingredient in traditional Finnish cuisine, and is often used to flavor bread, pastries, and other baked goods. Its high fat content also makes it a great ingredient for sautéing or frying, adding richness and depth of flavor to any dish.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like voita?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy