what is vegan

Is wachsmaisstärke vegan?

Wachsmaisstärke is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is wachsmaisstärke?

Wachsmaisstärke, also known as corn starch or maize starch, is a fine white powder extracted from corn kernels. It is a versatile ingredient commonly used in the food industry as a thickening agent, stabilizer, and binder. Wachsmaisstärke has a neutral taste and odor, making it an ideal additive for various food products without altering their flavor profile. Due to its unique molecular structure, wachsmaisstärke has exceptional binding properties, allowing it to absorb liquids and create a smooth texture in sauces, gravies, and soups. Additionally, it is gluten-free and has a long shelf life, making it a popular choice for gluten-free and vegan products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like wachsmaisstärke?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy