what is vegan

Is wasserkastanien vegan?

Wasserkastanien, also known as water chestnuts, are a unique and crunchy root vegetable that grow in freshwater marshes. These small, round tubers have a dark brown, rough exterior with a white, starchy flesh inside. Wasserkastanien are a popular ingredient in Asian cuisine, where they are often used in stir-fries, salads, and soups for their refreshing and crunchy texture. They are also a great source of fiber, potassium, and vitamins B and E, making them a nutritious addition to any dish. When sliced thinly, wasserkastanien can add a satisfying crunch to salads or stir-fries, while diced or mashed wasserkastanien can be used as a gluten-free alternative to flour or breadcrumbs.

Wasserkastanien is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like wasserkastanien?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy