what is vegan

Are adrenals of hogs vegan?

Adrenals of hogs is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is adrenals of hogs?

Adrenals of hogs, also known as pig adrenal glands, are a lesser-known ingredient found in certain cuisines. These small, triangular glands are located on top of the kidneys in hogs and are known for their rich and slightly gamey flavor. Adrenals of hogs are often used in traditional dishes such as liver pâtés and sausages, as well as in more experimental dishes by adventurous chefs. This ingredient is rich in nutrients such as vitamin C, B vitamins, and iron, making it a great addition to any balanced diet. However, it should be noted that due to its high cholesterol content, consumption of adrenals of hogs should be limited for those with cholesterol concerns.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like adrenals of hogs?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy