what is vegan

Are caramel colorings vegan?

Caramel colorings is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is caramel colorings?

Caramel colorings are a common food coloring ingredient used in a variety of foods and beverages. These colorings are derived from caramelized sugars and are typically used to give products a dark, rich color. Caramel colorings are often used in colas, beer, baked goods, sauces, and other products to enhance their appearance and create a more appealing look. Unlike other food colorings, caramel colorings do not add any significant flavor to the product. They are also considered safe for consumption by regulatory agencies, such as the FDA. However, some people may have an allergic reaction to caramel colorings, so it's important to read food labels carefully.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like caramel colorings?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy