what is vegan

Are cetyl esters vegan?

Cetyl esters is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is cetyl esters?

Cetyl esters are a type of wax derived from cetyl alcohol and a fatty acid. They are commonly used as emollients and thickeners in a variety of cosmetic and personal care products, including lotions, creams, and lip balms. Cetyl esters help to improve the texture and consistency of these products while also providing a protective barrier on the skin to prevent moisture loss. Due to their low melting point, they are easily incorporated into formulations and provide a silky, smooth feel upon application. Cetyl esters are also used as a lubricant in the food industry and as a coating for pharmaceutical tablets.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cetyl esters?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy