what is vegan

Are distilled vinegars vegan?

Distilled vinegars is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is distilled vinegars?

Distilled vinegars are a type of vinegar made through a process of distillation, resulting in a clear, colorless liquid with a sharp, acidic flavor. This vinegar is versatile and widely used in cooking, pickling, and salad dressings. It is made by fermenting ethanol from various sources, such as grains or fruits, and then distilling the resulting mixture to remove impurities and increase the vinegar's acidity. Distilled vinegars have a higher acidity than other types of vinegar, making them great for preserving food and adding a tangy flavor to dishes. They are also commonly used for cleaning and disinfecting due to their high acidity levels.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like distilled vinegars?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy