what is vegan

Are dont caséinates vegan?

Dont caséinates is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is dont caséinates?

Don't caséinates, also known as sodium and calcium caseinates, are a type of protein derived from milk. They are commonly used in food production as a stabilizing agent, thickener, and emulsifier. Don't caséinates have excellent solubility and can be added to a wide range of products, including processed cheese, whipped toppings, and meat products. They are also used in the sports nutrition industry as a supplement to help support muscle growth and recovery. Despite being derived from milk, don't caséinates are generally considered safe for those with lactose intolerance, as the manufacturing process removes most of the lactose.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like dont caséinates?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy