what is vegan

Are extraits de levures vegan?

Extraits de levures is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is extraits de levures?

Extraits de levures is a French term that refers to yeast extracts. This ingredient is commonly used in food production as a flavor enhancer, as it contains a rich concentration of natural glutamates that provide an umami taste. Yeast extracts are also a source of B-complex vitamins, minerals, and amino acids. They are often used in soups, sauces, gravies, and snack foods to add depth and complexity of flavor. Yeast extracts are particularly popular in vegetarian and vegan cuisine as a substitute for meat-based flavorings. Additionally, yeast extracts have been studied for their potential health benefits, including boosting immunity and reducing inflammation.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like extraits de levures?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy