what is vegan

Are hydrogenated fish glycerides vegan?

Hydrogenated fish glycerides is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is hydrogenated fish glycerides?

Hydrogenated fish glycerides are a type of food ingredient derived from fish oil. The process of hydrogenation involves adding hydrogen atoms to unsaturated fatty acids in order to make them more stable and solid at room temperature. This results in a product that is more resistant to spoilage and has a longer shelf life than non-hydrogenated oils. Fish glycerides are a rich source of omega-3 fatty acids, which are important for maintaining heart health and brain function. Hydrogenated fish glycerides are commonly used as a food additive to enhance texture, flavor, and shelf life in a wide range of products including baked goods, margarine, and snack foods.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like hydrogenated fish glycerides?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy