what is vegan

Are maquereaux vegan?

Maquereaux is a French term used to refer to mackerel, a type of fish that is commonly found in temperate and tropical seas. Mackerel is a popular ingredient in various cuisines due to its firm, meaty texture and rich flavor. The fish has a distinct green-blue back with silver sides, and its flesh is high in healthy omega-3 fatty acids. Maquereaux can be grilled, broiled, baked, smoked, or canned, making it a versatile ingredient that can be used in a variety of dishes, from salads and sandwiches to stews and curries. Its bold flavor profile pairs well with acidic or sweet ingredients, such as lemon juice, vinegar, or fruits.

Maquereaux is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Scan ingredients and find vegan products
You snap a pic, and we search for animal ingredients. Simple.
Check if a product is vegan in 7 seconds and avoid vegan traps.
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like maquereaux?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.

Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at hello@whatsvegan.app 🙌

The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy