what is vegan

Are noix de saint jacques vegan?

Noix de saint jacques is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is noix de saint jacques?

Noix de Saint Jacques, or "Saint James' scallops" in English, is a luxurious seafood ingredient that has been enjoyed for centuries in European cuisine. These small, delicate mollusks are prized for their sweet, tender meat and are often served as a high-end appetizer or entrée in fine dining restaurants. With a delicate and mild flavor, they pair well with a variety of flavors, from citrus to herbs and spices. They can be seared, grilled, or baked, and are often served with butter or cream-based sauces. Sourcing sustainably caught scallops is important, as overfishing and habitat destruction threaten wild populations.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like noix de saint jacques?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy