what is vegan

Is fletan vegan?

Fletan is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is fletan?

Fletan, also known as halibut, is a versatile fish prized for its delicate, mild flavor and firm texture. This flatfish is found in the icy waters of the North Atlantic and North Pacific oceans and can grow up to 500 pounds. Fletan is a healthy source of protein, omega-3 fatty acids, and essential minerals like selenium and phosphorus. Its dense, meaty flesh makes it ideal for grilling, roasting, or baking, and it pairs well with a range of flavors, from tangy citrus to bold herbs and spices. Whether served as a centerpiece of a meal or incorporated into soups and stews, fletan is a delicious and nutritious ingredient with a wide variety of culinary applications.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like fletan?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy