what is vegan

Are rehydrated chickpeas vegan?

Rehydrated chickpeas is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is rehydrated chickpeas?

Rehydrated chickpeas are dried chickpeas that have been soaked in water to restore their moisture content and plumpness. These legumes are a versatile and nutritious ingredient commonly used in a variety of dishes, from salads and stews to hummus and falafel. Rehydration allows the chickpeas to become tender and easier to cook, while also improving their digestibility and reducing their cooking time. With a nutty flavor and a creamy texture, rehydrated chickpeas are an excellent source of plant-based protein, fiber, and essential nutrients such as iron and folate. Add them to your favorite recipes for a healthy and delicious boost of plant-based.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like rehydrated chickpeas?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy