what is vegan

Are ricotta cheeses vegan?

Ricotta cheeses is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ricotta cheeses?

Ricotta cheese is a creamy, slightly sweet, and versatile cheese made from the whey leftover from the production of other cheeses. With its delicate texture and subtle flavor, ricotta cheese is a popular ingredient in both sweet and savory dishes. It is often used in Italian cuisine, adding richness and depth to dishes like lasagna, stuffed shells, and ravioli. Ricotta cheese is also a popular topping for pizzas, as well as a key ingredient in desserts such as cannoli, cheesecake, and ricotta fritters. Due to its mild flavor and smooth texture, ricotta cheese is a great addition to any recipe that requires a creamy, tangy touch.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ricotta cheeses?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy