what is vegan

Are selected ferments vegan?

Selected ferments is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is selected ferments?

Selected ferments are food ingredients made from carefully chosen microorganisms that are used to create a unique flavor profile in fermented foods. These ferments are created through a process known as fermentation, which involves the conversion of sugars and other compounds in the food by microorganisms, such as bacteria or yeast. The selection of these microorganisms is crucial to achieving the desired taste, texture, and aroma in the final product. Whether used in yogurt, cheese, or sauerkraut, selected ferments are a key component in many fermented foods that are known for their distinctive and delicious flavors.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like selected ferments?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy