what is vegan

Are sorbitan fatty acid esters vegan?

Sorbitan fatty acid esters is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is sorbitan fatty acid esters?

Sorbitan fatty acid esters are a group of food emulsifiers derived from sorbitol, a sugar alcohol commonly found in fruits. These esters are typically made by reacting sorbitol with fatty acids, such as lauric acid or stearic acid, to create a versatile ingredient that can improve the texture and stability of food products. Sorbitan fatty acid esters are commonly used in baked goods, confections, and dairy products to prevent separation and improve consistency. They are generally considered safe for consumption, and have been approved for use in many countries around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like sorbitan fatty acid esters?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy