what is vegan

Is acétates de calcium vegan?

Acétates de calcium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is acétates de calcium?

Acétates de calcium, or calcium acetates, are a type of food additive commonly used as a preservative, emulsifier, and flavoring agent. They are a salt of calcium and acetic acid and are often derived from natural sources like vinegar and fruits. These white, odorless, and slightly bitter crystals have been approved by regulatory agencies worldwide and are used in a variety of food products, including baked goods, dairy products, and beverages. Acétates de calcium have antimicrobial properties that help extend the shelf life of foods by inhibiting the growth of bacteria, yeast, and mold. They are also known to improve texture and enhance the flavor of certain foods.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like acétates de calcium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy