what is vegan

Is acide benzoique vegan?

Acide benzoique is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is acide benzoique?

Acide benzoique, also known as benzoic acid, is a white crystalline powder with a slightly sweet and sour taste. It is a naturally occurring compound found in many fruits, including cranberries, prunes, and plums, as well as in cinnamon and cloves. Acide benzoique is often used as a preservative in food and beverages due to its ability to inhibit the growth of yeast, bacteria, and mold. It is also used in the production of various synthetic flavors and fragrances. While it is generally recognized as safe by regulatory agencies, high levels of acide benzoique have been associated with adverse health effects, including asthma and hyperactivity in children.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like acide benzoique?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy