what is vegan

Is alcaravea vegan?

Alcaravea is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is alcaravea?

Alcaravea, also known as caraway, is a flavorful and aromatic spice commonly used in European, Middle Eastern, and Indian cuisine. This ingredient is derived from the dried fruits of the caraway plant, which are small, crescent-shaped, and dark brown in color. Alcaravea has a warm, slightly sweet, and slightly bitter flavor, with notes of anise and fennel. It is often used in breads, pastries, sausages, and stews, and is also used to flavor alcoholic beverages such as aquavit and kümmel. In addition to its culinary uses, alcaravea is also believed to have medicinal properties and has been used for centuries to aid in digestion and soothe stomach discomfort.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like alcaravea?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy