what is vegan

Is almidón acetilado vegan?

Almidón acetilado is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is almidón acetilado?

Almidón acetilado, also known as acetylated starch, is a modified food ingredient derived from starch. It is produced by treating natural starch with acetic anhydride, which causes the replacement of some of the hydroxyl groups within the starch molecules with acetyl groups. This process results in a more stable and versatile starch that can be used in a wide range of food applications, including as a thickener, stabilizer, and emulsifier. Almidón acetilado is particularly useful in acidic food systems because its chemical modification allows it to maintain its functional properties even in low-pH environments. Additionally, it improves the texture and stability of foods while reducing the need for other additives.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like almidón acetilado?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy