what is vegan

Is almidón en maíz vegan?

Almidón en maíz is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is almidón en maíz?

Almidón en maíz, also known as corn starch, is a fine white powder made from the endosperm of the corn kernel. It is a versatile cooking ingredient that can be used in numerous recipes to thicken sauces, soups, and gravies or to create smooth textures in desserts and baked goods. Almidón en maíz is gluten-free and has a neutral flavor profile, making it an excellent substitute for wheat flour. Due to its high starch content, it is an ideal binding agent in processed foods such as canned goods, snacks, and meat products. Additionally, almidón en maíz is a common ingredient in many Mexican and Latin American cuisines, where it is used to make masa harina for tortillas and tamales.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like almidón en maíz?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy