what is vegan

Is aluminum starch octenylsuccinate vegan?

Aluminum starch octenylsuccinate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is aluminum starch octenylsuccinate?

Aluminum starch octenylsuccinate is a modified cornstarch that has been chemically altered to enhance its functional properties. This food ingredient is used as a stabilizer and thickener in various processed foods, such as sauces, dressings, and bakery products. It helps prevent ingredients from separating, improves texture and consistency, and enhances the shelf life of products. Aluminum starch octenylsuccinate is generally recognized as safe by regulatory bodies around the world and is commonly used in the food industry due to its effectiveness, versatility, and low cost.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like aluminum starch octenylsuccinate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy