what is vegan

Is ammonium isostearate vegan?

Ammonium isostearate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ammonium isostearate?

Ammonium isostearate is a chemical compound commonly used as a food additive to improve the texture and consistency of various food products, such as bread, cake, and margarine. It is derived from isostearic acid, a fatty acid found in some vegetable oils, and is commonly used as an emulsifier due to its ability to mix oil and water-based ingredients. Ammonium isostearate also helps to stabilize foams and enhances the whipping and aeration of certain foods. Despite its chemical-sounding name, ammonium isostearate is considered safe for consumption by regulatory bodies such as the FDA.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ammonium isostearate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy