what is vegan

Is ammonium stearate vegan?

Ammonium stearate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ammonium stearate?

Ammonium stearate is a white, odorless powder that is commonly used in the food industry as an emulsifier and stabilizer. It is created by combining stearic acid, a saturated fatty acid found in animal and vegetable fats, with ammonium hydroxide. This results in a salt-like compound that is highly soluble in water and can help prevent oil and water from separating in food products. Ammonium stearate is often added to baked goods, margarine, and other processed foods to improve texture and increase shelf life. However, some individuals may have an allergic reaction to ammonium stearate, and it is important to read food labels carefully.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ammonium stearate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy