what is vegan

Is ammonium lecithin vegan?

Ammonium lecithin is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ammonium lecithin?

Ammonium lecithin is a food ingredient that is derived from soybeans and is commonly used as an emulsifier in the food industry. It is a compound made up of phospholipids and ammonium, and is often added to food products to improve their texture and appearance. Ammonium lecithin is soluble in both water and oil, making it a versatile ingredient in a wide range of food products such as baked goods, chocolate, and margarine. It is also used in non-food industries such as pharmaceuticals and cosmetics as an emulsifier and stabilizer. With its ability to improve the texture, stability, and overall quality of food products, ammonium lecithin is a popular ingredient in the food industry.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ammonium lecithin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy