what is vegan

Is butter flavouring vegan?

Butter flavouring is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is butter flavouring?

Butter flavouring is a concentrated liquid or powder used to give food a rich, buttery taste without the added fat and calories of real butter. It's a versatile ingredient that can be added to baked goods, sauces, and popcorn, among other foods. Butter flavouring is often made with natural or artificial flavourings, and may also contain other ingredients like salt, colourings, or preservatives. While it's not a substitute for real butter in all cases, butter flavouring can add a delicious, buttery taste to many dishes, making it a popular ingredient in the food industry and in home kitchens alike.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like butter flavouring?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy