what is vegan

Is calcium fumarate vegan?

Calcium fumarate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is calcium fumarate?

Calcium fumarate is a food ingredient that consists of a calcium salt of fumaric acid, a naturally occurring organic acid found in various fruits and vegetables. It is a white crystalline powder that is odorless and tasteless, making it a popular choice for food fortification. Calcium fumarate is a bioavailable form of calcium, which means that it can be easily absorbed by the body and utilized for various functions, such as building strong bones and teeth. It is commonly used in baked goods, dairy products, and beverages, as well as dietary supplements. Calcium fumarate is also known for its acidity-regulating properties, which can improve the texture and shelf life of food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like calcium fumarate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy