what is vegan

Is caramel coloring vegan?

Caramel coloring is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is caramel coloring?

Caramel coloring is a food additive commonly used to enhance the color of various food and beverage products. It is produced by heating a mixture of sugar and water until it reaches a rich brown color, which is then used to add a warm, brown hue to many different types of food. Caramel coloring can be found in a variety of products such as soft drinks, baked goods, sauces, and even some types of beer. While generally considered safe for consumption, there is some controversy surrounding caramel coloring due to the potential presence of harmful compounds such as 4-methylimidazole (4-MEI). However, most regulatory agencies have set limits on the amount of 4-MEI that can be present in caramel coloring, ensuring its safety for use in food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like caramel coloring?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy