what is vegan

Is carbonate acide d‘ammonium vegan?

Carbonate acide d‘ammonium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carbonate acide d‘ammonium?

Carbonate acide d‘ammonium, also known as ammonium bicarbonate, is a white crystalline powder that is commonly used as a leavening agent in baking. It has a slightly ammoniacal odor and is soluble in water. When heated, it decomposes into ammonia, water, and carbon dioxide, which causes dough or batter to rise. Ammonium bicarbonate is often used in cookies, biscuits, and crackers to produce a light and airy texture. It is also used in the production of ammonium salts, pharmaceuticals, and fire extinguishers. Despite its name, ammonium bicarbonate does not contain any carbonates but rather it is a salt composed of ammonium and bicarbonate ions.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carbonate acide d‘ammonium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy