what is vegan

Is carbonato calcico vegan?

Carbonato calcico is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is carbonato calcico?

Carbonato calcico, also known as calcium carbonate, is a naturally occurring mineral compound that is widely used in the food industry as a food ingredient and supplement. It is a white, odorless powder with a chalky texture and is commonly found in rocks and shells. Calcium carbonate is used as a source of calcium, an essential mineral that plays a crucial role in maintaining healthy bones, teeth, and muscles. In addition, it is used as an anti-caking agent, a pH regulator, and a buffering agent in a variety of food products, including baked goods, dairy products, and beverages. Due to its versatility, safety, and effectiveness, calcium carbonate is a popular choice for food manufacturers looking to enhance the nutritional value and quality of their products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like carbonato calcico?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy