what is vegan

Is chlorure calcium vegan?

Chlorure calcium is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is chlorure calcium?

Chlorure calcium, commonly known as calcium chloride, is a salt composed of calcium and chlorine. It has a white or colorless crystalline appearance and is highly soluble in water. It is used as a food additive, mainly as a firming agent, stabilizer, and preservative. Calcium chloride can also be used to enhance the texture of certain foods, such as cheese, and as a flavor enhancer in some beverages. Additionally, it is used in the production of various food items like pickles, canned fruits, and vegetables. Calcium chloride also has applications outside of the food industry, including in the de-icing of roads and as a desiccant in packaging.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like chlorure calcium?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy