what is vegan

Is cire de polyéthylène oxydée vegan?

Cire de polyéthylène oxydée is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is cire de polyéthylène oxydée?

Cire de polyéthylène oxydée, or oxidized polyethylene wax, is a versatile and highly stable food ingredient commonly used as a lubricant, release agent, and processing aid. This waxy substance is derived from polyethylene through a process that involves controlled oxidation, resulting in a product that exhibits excellent thermal stability, water resistance, and low volatility. Its high melting point makes it suitable for a variety of applications, including confectionery, chewing gum, and food packaging. As an additive, cire de polyéthylène oxydée improves texture, mouthfeel, and shelf life, while also providing a smooth and glossy finish.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like cire de polyéthylène oxydée?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy