what is vegan

Is coagulating enzyme vegan?

Coagulating enzyme is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is coagulating enzyme?

Coagulating enzyme is a protein-based ingredient used to thicken or solidify liquids in various food products. This enzyme breaks down the proteins in the liquid, causing them to bond together and form a solid mass. It is commonly used in the production of cheese, tofu, and other dairy or plant-based products. Coagulating enzymes can be derived from a variety of sources, including animal stomachs, microorganisms, and genetically modified organisms. Some types of coagulating enzymes are considered vegetarian-friendly and are used in vegan and vegetarian food products as an alternative to animal-based rennet.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like coagulating enzyme?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy