what is vegan

Is contiene bht vegan?

Contiene bht is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is contiene bht?

BHT, short for butylated hydroxytoluene, is a food ingredient that is commonly used as a preservative to prevent spoilage and extend the shelf life of products. It is a synthetic antioxidant that works by inhibiting the oxidation process and protecting fats, oils, and other lipids from becoming rancid. While controversial, BHT has been deemed safe for consumption in small amounts by regulatory agencies around the world. However, some studies have linked high levels of BHT consumption to potential health risks. Despite this, BHT can be found in a range of foods such as cereals, chewing gum, baked goods, and snack foods.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like contiene bht?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy