what is vegan

Is de guar vegan?

De guar is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is de guar?

De Guar is a versatile food ingredient that comes from the seeds of the guar plant. Also known as guar gum, it is a fine white powder that is commonly used as a thickener and stabilizer in a wide range of foods and beverages. De Guar is highly soluble in water, making it an excellent emulsifier that helps to prevent separation and improve texture. It is often used in gluten-free baking as a binding agent and to enhance the viscosity of dough and batter. De Guar is also used in dairy products, sauces, and dressings to improve the mouthfeel and create a smoother, creamier texture. Its neutral flavor makes it an excellent choice for adding body and texture to a variety of recipes without affecting the taste.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like de guar?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy