what is vegan

Is de rhum vegan?

De rhum is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is de rhum?

Dé Rhum, also known as "of rum" in French, is a flavoring ingredient made from the distilled and aged juice of sugarcane. The rich and complex flavor of Dé Rhum is characterized by the deep, sweet notes of caramel, vanilla, and oak, along with the distinct aroma of molasses. This versatile ingredient is commonly used in baking, especially in Caribbean desserts like rum cake and rum balls, as well as in cocktails such as daiquiris and mojitos. Its deep, nuanced flavor can add depth and complexity to a wide range of dishes, making it a popular choice for both professional chefs and home cooks alike.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like de rhum?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy