what is vegan

Is delta-gluconolactone vegan?

Delta-gluconolactone is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is delta-gluconolactone?

Delta-gluconolactone is a synthetic food ingredient that is commonly used as an acidulant, sequestrant, and flavor enhancer in various food products. It is typically derived from glucose and has a mildly sweet taste with a slightly sour note. Delta-gluconolactone is often used in the production of beverages, dairy products, and baked goods for its ability to control pH levels and improve texture. Additionally, it has been found to have antioxidant properties and is known to increase the shelf life of certain foods. Despite being synthetic, delta-gluconolactone is generally recognized as safe by regulatory bodies around the world.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like delta-gluconolactone?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy