what is vegan

Is disodium-guanylate vegan?

Disodium-guanylate is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is disodium-guanylate?

Disodium guanylate, also known as sodium 5'-guanylate, is a flavor enhancer commonly used in processed foods to add a savory or umami taste. It is a white crystalline powder that is derived from the nucleotide guanosine monophosphate (GMP) and is often used in conjunction with monosodium glutamate (MSG) to enhance the flavor of food. Disodium guanylate is a safe and effective food additive that is recognized as generally safe by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA). It is commonly found in snack foods, soups, sauces, and seasonings.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like disodium-guanylate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy