what is vegan

Is durum wholewheat semolina vegan?

Durum wholewheat semolina is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is durum wholewheat semolina?

Durum whole wheat semolina is a nutritious and flavorful ingredient commonly used in Mediterranean cuisine. It is made from the hard, dense wheat known as durum wheat, which is ground into a fine texture resembling sand. The result is a coarse, golden-hued flour that is perfect for making pasta, couscous, and other hearty dishes. Unlike regular wheat flour, durum semolina has a high protein content and is low in gluten, making it an ideal choice for those with gluten sensitivities. Its nutty and earthy flavor profile is sure to enhance any dish and add a unique touch to your culinary creations.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like durum wholewheat semolina?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy