what is vegan

Is e432 vegan?

E432 is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is e432?

E432, also known as Polyoxyethylene (40) Stearate, is a food ingredient commonly used as an emulsifier in various food products. It is a white or cream-colored waxy substance that is derived from stearic acid, a type of saturated fatty acid found in many natural sources. Polyoxyethylene (40) Stearate is primarily used to help mix and stabilize oil and water-based ingredients, preventing them from separating over time. It is also often used in the production of baked goods, dairy products, and confectionery items. E432 is considered safe for consumption by most regulatory bodies, including the FDA and the European Food Safety Authority (EFSA).

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like e432?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy