what is vegan

Is elettaria cardamomum vegan?

Elettaria cardamomum is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is elettaria cardamomum?

Elettaria cardamomum, also known as true cardamom, is a perennial herb that belongs to the ginger family. This spice is native to India, Bhutan, and Nepal and is widely used in Indian, Middle Eastern, and Scandinavian cuisines. The plant produces small, green pods containing black seeds that have a strong, aromatic flavor with a hint of citrus and mint. In addition to its culinary uses, Elettaria cardamomum has been used for centuries in traditional medicine to treat digestive issues, bad breath, and even depression. This versatile spice adds depth and complexity to both sweet and savory dishes and is an essential ingredient in many spice blends.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like elettaria cardamomum?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy