what is vegan

Is ethylene urea vegan?

Ethylene urea is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ethylene urea?

Ethylene urea is a food ingredient that is widely used as a dough conditioner and a stabilizer in the food industry. It is a white crystalline powder that is water-soluble and odorless. Ethylene urea helps improve the texture and quality of baked goods, such as bread and cakes, by enhancing the dough's elasticity and preventing it from becoming dry and crumbly. It is also used as a thickener in sauces and soups, providing a smooth and creamy consistency. However, due to its potential toxicity, the use of ethylene urea in food products is regulated by various health authorities.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ethylene urea?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy