what is vegan

Is ferrous lactate vegan?

Ferrous lactate is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? πŸ‘‡

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

β€” Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

β€” Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

β€” DΓ³ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is ferrous lactate?

Ferrous lactate is a food ingredient that is commonly used as a source of iron in various food products. It is a type of iron salt that is derived from lactic acid, a natural byproduct of milk fermentation. Ferrous lactate is a white or pale yellow powder that is easily soluble in water and has a slightly metallic taste. Due to its ability to increase iron levels in the body, it is often added to food products like breakfast cereals, infant formula, and sports drinks. Ferrous lactate is considered safe for consumption in moderate amounts and is a popular choice for food manufacturers looking to fortify their products with essential nutrients.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like ferrous lactate?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] πŸ™Œ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy