what is vegan

Is fortified wine vegan?

Fortified wine is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is fortified wine?

Fortified wine is a versatile and complex ingredient that adds depth and character to many dishes. Made by adding brandy or other spirits to wine during the fermentation process, fortified wine has a higher alcohol content and a longer shelf life than regular wine. It comes in various styles, including port, sherry, and vermouth, each with its unique flavor profile and characteristics. Fortified wine is a popular ingredient in sauces, marinades, and desserts, adding a subtle sweetness and nutty, caramelized notes. It is also a popular aperitif and digestive, often enjoyed on its own or with a variety of appetizers.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like fortified wine?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy