what is vegan

Is gelatine porcine vegan?

Gelatine porcine is a non-vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gelatine porcine?

Gelatine porcine is a food ingredient made from collagen extracted from pig skin, bones, and connective tissues. It is a protein-rich, odorless, and tasteless substance commonly used as a gelling agent, thickener, and stabilizer in a wide range of food products. Gelatine porcine is a versatile ingredient used in the production of gummy candies, marshmallows, yogurts, and many other food items. It is also used in the pharmaceutical and cosmetic industries for its binding and emulsifying properties. Gelatine porcine is a popular alternative to gelatine derived from beef and is widely used in halal and kosher food products.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gelatine porcine?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy