what is vegan

Is glicin vegan?

Glicin is potentially vegan - it can be derived from plants or animals. You should ask the manufacturer for more details.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glicin?

Glycine, also known as glicin, is a non-essential amino acid that plays a crucial role in the body's protein synthesis process. This sweet-tasting ingredient is the smallest amino acid and is considered nonpolar due to its side chain of a single hydrogen atom. It is found in various food sources, including meat, fish, dairy products, and legumes. Aside from its role in protein synthesis, glycine also functions as a neurotransmitter, aiding in the transmission of nerve signals. It has been linked to various health benefits, such as improving sleep quality and reducing inflammation. Glicin can also be found in dietary supplements and is commonly used in the food industry as a flavor enhancer and sweetener.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glicin?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy