what is vegan

Is glucosefructose syrup vegan?

Glucosefructose syrup is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? ūüĎá

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

‚ÄĒ Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. ūüėĀ"

‚ÄĒ Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

‚ÄĒ D√≥ra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is glucosefructose syrup?

Glucosefructose syrup, also known as high fructose corn syrup (HFCS), is a sweetener derived from corn starch. It is made by converting some of the glucose in corn syrup into fructose, resulting in a syrup that is sweeter and more soluble than regular sugar. Glucosefructose syrup is commonly used in the food industry to sweeten soft drinks, baked goods, and other processed foods. It has a similar taste and texture to granulated sugar, but is less expensive and easier to use in liquid form. However, there has been some controversy over its health effects, with some studies linking it to obesity and other health problems.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like glucosefructose syrup?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] ūüôĆ
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy