what is vegan

Is gluten blé vegan?

Gluten blé is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is gluten blé?

Gluten blé, also known as wheat gluten, is a highly versatile and protein-rich ingredient derived from wheat. It is produced by washing wheat flour dough with water until the starch granules have been removed, leaving behind a sticky, elastic mass of gluten. Gluten blé is commonly used as a meat substitute in vegetarian and vegan diets, as well as in baking to provide structure and elasticity to dough. It is also used as a thickener in soups, sauces, and gravies. Although gluten blé is a valuable source of protein and essential amino acids, it should be avoided by individuals with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like gluten blé?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy