what is vegan

Is goma de celulosa vegan?

Goma de celulosa is a vegan food ingredient.

Checking out an ingredients list? 👇

Vegan Ingredient Checker
Scan labels, check if ingredients are vegan
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store

Learn more

"You are amazing, this has saved me so much time when grocery shopping!"

— Austin, a user who reached out with feedback

"It's been a great tool since starting my journey! You take a pic of the nutrition/ingredients, and it'll warn you of anything questionable or not vegan. 😁"

— Ashe, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

"Use a vegan app when you go shopping, I use WhatsVegan."

— Dóra, a Vegan For Beginners Facebook Group member

So, what is goma de celulosa?

Goma de celulosa, also known as cellulose gum or carboxymethylcellulose (CMC), is a food ingredient that is commonly used as a thickener, stabilizer, and emulsifier in a variety of processed foods, including dairy products, baked goods, and sauces. It is derived from plant-based sources, such as wood pulp or cotton, and has a high molecular weight and water-solubility. Goma de celulosa can enhance the texture and mouthfeel of foods by creating a smooth and creamy consistency, while also improving their shelf life and preventing ingredient separation. It is a versatile ingredient that is widely used in the food industry to improve the quality and stability of processed foods.

How to quickly find the source of ingredients like goma de celulosa?

We've built a database of 49359 ingredients (and growing), classified as "vegan", "non-vegan", or "maybe vegan".

We use it in our vegan ingredients scanner, which is the best way to avoid non-vegan ingredients - you take a picture of a product's ingredient list, and the app tells you if the product is vegan or not.

scan ingredient listvegan ingredient checkervegan shopping made simple
Get on Google PlayGet on App Store
Stay in the loop about new WhatsVegan goodies!
We'll never send you spam.
Do you have any feedback? Drop us a line at [email protected] 🙌
The content on this website and the WhatsVegan application is not dietary advice, and it's intended for informational and educational purposes only.Terms of ServicePrivacy policy